Deactivating device licenses

2024-02-28Last updated

You can deactivate a device license to remove a device from use, to assign the license to a new device, or when a device breaks and requires servicing or replacement. Deactivating a license automatically removes assigned users from the device.

Before you begin

The device must be registered in Clearance and the device license must be activated.

The following prerequisites apply when deactivating licenses:

  • You must have an active internet connection.
  • You must be a member of the Manage devices security policy.
  • The Clearance Uploader must be installed and associated with a Clearance account.

Procedure

  1. Click Configurations > Devices .
  2. (Optional) In the search box, enter the device information, and press Enter or click the search button ().
  3. Click the device that you require.
    On the Device details page the number of activated devices is displayed. For example Activated devices: 1/15 indicates the number of devices that are active (1) followed by the device licenses that are available (15) as specified in your license conditions.
  4. Click Deactivate license.
    A warning message is displayed as follows:
    The deactivate license window notifying the user that deactivating the device license automatically un-assigns users from the device.
    CAUTION: Deactivating a license automatically removes any assigned users from the device.
  5. Click Deactivate license again to confirm the action.
    The device page with the number of activated devices and the device state highlighted.
    The device license is deactivated and an additional device license is now available.

Example

Watch this video to learn more. Click the Captions icon (CC) to turn on video captions in one of the available languages.

After you finish

You can now activate this device license for a new device if required.