Protecting cases from deletion

2020-06-03Last updated

To keep cases longer than the specified retention policy, you can place an indefinite hold on a case by using the Protect from deletion option.

What you should know

Users must have manage permission to protect cases. Protected cases remain in the system, are not deleted, and are unaffected by retention policies.

Users must also be included in the Protect or unprotect cases and files from deletion security policies list. If there are no users on that list, then all users with manage permissions have the ability to protect or unprotect cases and files.

Procedure

  1. From either the Search or Home page, open a case.
  2. Click to select the case that you want to protect.
  3. In the General section of the Case edit page, select the Protect from deletion check box.
The case is now protected from manual deletion by a user or automatic deletion by any retention policies that are in effect.