Deleting cases

To remove the details of an incident and any digital evidence that is linked to the incident, you can delete a case and its associated files.

What you should know

You can manually delete a case or file even when there is a retention policy active for the case category. The retention policy for the case category starts to count down when the case is closed and deletes the case automatically after the retention period (count down) is reached.
IMPORTANT: Users must be in the Delete cases and files security policies list. Users must also have manage permission level to delete cases.

To delete a case:

  1. Open an existing case.
  2. Click the More icon () next to Close case.
  3. Click Delete case.
    A confirmation message is displayed: Are you sure you want to delete this case? Case name.
  4. (Optional) Select Delete all files attached to this case that are not attached to any other case and then select one of the following:
    1. Click Delete case and files when you want to delete a case and all the files that are associated with that case.
  5. Click Delete case only when you want to keep the files that are associated with the case.
  6. (Optional) If a case is protected, the Delete case option is unavailable and a warning message is displayed. This case is protected from deletion. You must clear the Protect from deletion check box to delete this case.
    1. Clear the Protect from deletion check box.
    2. Click Delete.
    The delete status is displayed. After the case is deleted, you are automatically redirected to the case home page.
The deleted case is marked for deletion and put in the recycle bin.

Example

After you finish

You can view or search in the recycle bin to understand when the case and any associated files will be purged from the recycle bin. You can also view all active retention policies. When the purge occurs, the case and any associated files are permanently deleted from the Genetec Clearance™ database.