Setting the retention period for cases and files

To ensure that evidence is deleted when it is no longer required, you can configure retention periods for cases and files in the recycle bin. You can also configure retention periods to automatically delete files by source or category.

Video: click_to_hide_video

Watch this video to learn more. Click the Captions icon (CC) to turn on video captions in one of the available languages. If using Internet Explorer, the video might not display. To fix this, open the Compatibility View Settings and clear Display intranet sites in Compatibility View.

Text: Click to hide text

What you should know

  • Digital evidence can be stored in accordance with the requirements of the incident. For example, the incident category of the case will be used to determine the retention policy.
  • Digital evidence can also be stored based on the device type that is associated with the recordings.

    For example, body-worn camera (BWC) video could be kept for 90 days, public surveillance video could be kept for 30 days, and so on.

    If a file is associated with a case, it inherits the retention policy of the case. If the file retention policy is longer than the case retention, then the file retention policy is used.
WARNING: Modifying retention policies can result in permanent loss of file data or automatic deletion of files.
NOTE: Files will only be deleted if all cases associated with the file(s) are closed. Any files without a category will use the associated case(s) category if applicable. The longest source or category retention policy will be used.

Closing and reopening files also affects the retention period. For example, when a closed case is reopened, the scheduled deletion is changed back to Never delete if the file is not in the recycle bin.

To set the recycle bin retention period:

  1. Click Configurations > Retention Policies .
  2. Select the retention period that you require for cases and files in the recycle bin.
    The default setting is 7 days and the maximum is 365 days.

    An image of the Retention policies panel

  3. Click Save.
  4. Select the I understand and want to modify the retention policies check box and click Save Modifications.

To automatically delete files by source:

  1. Click Configurations > Retention Policies .
  2. Specify a retention period for each source that is defined in the system.
    The Never delete check box is selected by default, to keep your files indefinitely.
    1. (Optional) To specify a retention period in days, clear the Never delete check box next to the source that you require and select a value.
      The maximum value is 36,500 days.
    2. (Optional) To specify a retention period in years, clear the Never delete check box next to the source that you require and select a value.
      The maximum value is 100 years.

  3. Click Save.
  4. Select the I understand and want to modify the retention policies check box and click Save Modifications.

To automatically delete files by category:

  1. Click Configurations > Retention Policies .
  2. Specify a retention period for each category that is defined in the system:
    The Never delete check box is selected by default, to keep your files indefinitely.
    1. (Optional) To specify a retention period in days, clear the Never delete check box next to the category that you require and select a value.
      The maximum value is 36,500 days.
    2. (Optional) To specify a retention period in years, clear the Never delete check box next to the category that you require and select a value.
      The maximum value is 100 years.

  3. Click Save.
  4. Select the I understand and want to modify the retention policies check box and click Save Modifications.

After you finish

You can view or search the recycle bin to identify any cases or files that might be affected by the retention periods.

For example:

  • If you change the retention period for recycle bin some files could be permanently deleted.
  • If you change the file retention period by source or category files could be automatically deleted and end up in the recycle bin.

Cases and files that have been automatically deleted remain available in the recycle bin for the specified retention period. All deleted cases or files can be restored while they are in the recycle bin.