Deleting files

To remove any digital evidence that is linked to an incident, you can delete the associated files.

What you should know

You can manually delete a case or file even when there is a retention policy active for the case category. The retention policy for the case category starts to count down when the case is closed and deletes the case automatically after the retention period (count down) is reached.
IMPORTANT: Users must be in the Delete cases and files security policies list. Users must also have manage permission level to delete files associated with a case.

To delete files:

  1. Open an existing file from either the Search or Files home page.
  2. Click the More icon () next to Download.
  3. Click Delete File.
    A confirmation message is displayed. Are you sure you want to delete this file?
  4. (Optional) If the file has been protected, the Delete File option is unavailable and a warning message is displayed: This file is protected from deletion. You must clear the Protect from deletion check box to delete this file.
    1. Clear the Protect from deletion check box.
    2. Click Delete again.
    The deleting status is displayed. After the file is deleted, you are returned to the Files home page.
The deleted file is marked for deletion and put in the recycle bin.

Example

After you finish

You can view or search in the recycle bin to understand when the file will be purged from the recycle bin. You can also view all active retention policies. When the purge occurs, the file is permanently deleted from the Genetec Clearance™ database.