Permission levels

The permission level of a user or group in the Genetec Clearance™ system determines which actions users can perform on a case or file. Manage, Edit, View and download, or View only permission levels can be assigned to cases or files individually, or assigned to departments.

  • Manage: Click to hide description
    Full access to a case or file. For cases, users can create cases, view and edit case details, download files, delete or restore files, share, and change access policies for the case. For files, users can view, edit, download, delete, restore, share, and change access policies for the file.
    NOTE: Guest users with Manage permission do not have full access. Access is restricted to sharing a case or file only.
  • Edit: Click to hide description
    For cases, users can create cases, view and edit the case details, and download files but cannot share cases with others or change the case access policies. For files, users can view, edit details, and download the files but cannot share cases with others or change the file access policies.
  • View and download: Click to hide description
    For cases, users can create cases and view the case information, and download files but cannot edit or share the case with others. For files, users can view and download files but cannot edit or share files.
  • View only: Click to hide description
    For cases, users can create cases and view the case information, but cannot edit or share the case with others. For files, users can only view files.

The following permission levels are used in the Genetec Clearance™ system:

Privilege View only View and download Edit Manage
Case permissions
Create cases (non-guest user)
View cases
Edit cases    
Add files to a case    
Create case summary report  
Create eDiscovery receipt      
Share cases      
Add users to a case    
Remove users from a case      
Create file request      
File permissions
View files
Download files  
Create and edit tags and fields    
Share files      
Add users to a file      
Remove users from a file      
Security policy permissions
View audit trail1      
Protect case1      
Protect file1      
Delete case1      
Delete file1      
Restore cases1      
Restore files1      
Access audit trail and create eDiscovery receipt      
Change access policies      
Change security policies (add users or groups)      
Manage devices      

1 Administrators must grant users access in the Security policies settings to allow users with Manage permission the ability to view audit trails, protect cases, and delete cases. Access to security policies can only be granted to Regular users and is not available for Guest users.