Security policy definitions list

2021-08-19Last updated

In Genetec Clearance™, system administrators can define security policies to control access for users and groups. A user's level of access associated with these policies can vary depending on case and file permissions.

Security policy Definition Details
Access files not associated with any cases Defines a user or group’s default permission level for files that are not associated with any case. Assign a default permission level (View only, View and download, Edit, or Manage) to each user and group in this policy.
Access audit trail and create eDiscovery receipt Defines which users and groups can access the activity history of a file or case and create a digital proof of receipt for evidence being shared. Users can only access the audit trail of and create eDiscovery receipts for files and cases for which they have Manage permissions.
Create cases Defines which users and groups can create cases. Guest users can be assigned this security policy.
Delete cases and files Defines which users and groups can delete cases and files. Users can only delete files and cases on which they have Manage permissions.
Restore cases and files from the recycle bin Defines which users and groups can restore cases and files from the recycle bin. Users can restore all deleted cases and files from the recycle bin.
Protect or unprotect cases and files from deletion Defines which users and groups can protect or unprotect cases and files from being deleted. Users can only protect or unprotect files and cases on which they have Manage permissions.
Hide visual watermark Defines which users and groups can toggle the visual watermarks on videos and images on and off. A user can hide the watermark on files they have permission to view.
View dashboard Defines which users can access the dashboard. This feature is not available to guest users.
Manage devices Defines which users and groups can add or remove devices and activate or deactivate device licenses. A device that has been deactivated can be reactivated by users in this security policy.
Add organizations approved for case transfers Defines which external organizations have been approved to receive case transfers. The user specified by the sender is automatically be granted Manage permissions for any cases transferred.
Share cases Defines which users and groups can share cases they have access to without having the Manage permission. Users who are included in this security policy can share any case they have permission to view. This feature is not available to guest users.
Access files uploaded from devices Defines the level of access officers have to files uploaded from devices assigned to them. Choose to give officers no access, view only, view and download, edit, or manage-level access to recordings from their devices.

Watch this video to learn more. Click the Captions icon (CC) to turn on video captions in one of the available languages.